Saturday, 23 July 2016

New fiction previews: six mysteries and thrillers

I'm always curious about intriguing titles and covers of novels I read about online. They often convey little which makes them interesting. The only way to find out is to read them. And that's not always possible. I came across these six mysteries and thrillers, published recently or to be published soon, on Twitter, and thought I'd feature them here. I hope to read them someday. Have you read any of these novels?

Falling Suns by J.A. Corrigan

Falling Suns, the debut novel of short story writer J.A. Corrigan, is "a psychological thriller for fans of Belinda Bauer, Mark Edwards, Clare Mackintosh—a dark and brooding tale about the horrors that can lurk within a family."

Blurb
Ex-DI Rachel’s small son is missing. Then his body is discovered. Her cousin Michael is found guilty of his murder and incarcerated in a secure psychiatric unit.

Four years later, now divorced and back in the police force, Rachel discovers that Michael is being released to a less secure step-down unit, with his freedom a likely eventuality. Unable to cope with this, she decides upon revenge, assuming a new identity to hunt him down and kill him. 


However, as she closes in on her target, her friend Jonathan, a journalist, uncovers some unnerving information about her mother and others in her family and begins to suspect that Rachel’s perception of the truth might not be as accurate as she thinks — that she might be about to murder the wrong man.

The 320-page book has been published by Accent Press (July 14, 2016) and sold by Amazon Digital Services.



The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

The Woman in Cabin 10 by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Ware, is a suspenseful and haunting novel set at sea.

Blurb

In this tightly wound, enthralling story reminiscent of Agatha Christie’s works, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. The sky is clear, the waters calm, and the veneered, select guests jovial as the exclusive cruise ship, the Aurora, begins her voyage in the picturesque North Sea. At first, Lo’s stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a dark and terrifying nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for—and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo’s desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong…


With surprising twists, spine-tingling turns, and a setting that proves as uncomfortably claustrophobic as it is eerily beautiful, Ruth Ware offers up another taut and intense read in The Woman in Cabin 10—one that will leave even the most sure-footed reader restlessly uneasy long after the last page is turned.

The 352-page novel has been published by Gallery/Scout Press.



The Case of the Questionable Quadruplet

Jacqueline Diamond's 101st novel The Case of the Questionable Quadruplet, a Safe Harbor Medical Mysteries Book 1, is a mystery series featuring an obstetrician who investigates deaths affecting his patients. It's a spin-off of her seventeen-book Safe Harbor Medical romance series, previously published by Harlequin.

Blurb

Dr. Eric Darcy is on the trail of his patient’s killer.

The mother of triplets stuns the young obstetrician by claiming there was a fourth baby, a quadruplet stolen from her at birth years ago. Is there a deadly secret hidden in an old medical file…which has just disappeared?

When someone murders his patient, Eric believes the police in his small town are dismissing a vital clue. Then the bodies start to pile up. Never imagining his own life might be in jeopardy, the widowed doctor turns amateur sleuth, partnering with his private investigator sister-in-law. Don’t miss this fun cozy mystery with a touch of medical thriller!


Readers of USA Today bestselling novelist Jacqueline Diamond’s Safe Harbor Medical romances will love this spin-off series. Mystery fans will welcome the return to the genre by the author of Danger Music and The Eyes of a Stranger.

Diamond says, "Writing has always been my passion, and fortunately, I never run short of ideas. As a result, my one hundred published novels cover a range of genres, including Regency romance, science fiction, fantasy, romance, humor and mystery."

The 202-page is published by K. Loren Wilson and sold by Amazon Digital Services.



Child Not Found by Ray Daniel

Child Not Found by Massachusetts-based crime fiction writer Ray Daniel, is the third suspense novel in his Aloysius Tucker mystery series.

Blurb

For Aloysius Tucker, taking his nine-year-old cousin Maria sledding is all about frozen toes and hot coffee in the warming house. It shouldn’t involve chasing after Maria as she’s led into a long black car by a stranger in a Bruins jacket. But by the end of the crisp December morning Maria is gone, her mother is dead, and her father?mafia don Sal?has been arrested for murder.


Sensing blood in the water, would-be successors to Sal’s criminal empire square off, agreeing on nothing but the idea that Sal’s blood relative, Tucker, needs to be eliminated. Searching for Maria through sub-zero days and nights, Tucker persists even as his relentless efforts draw him into a deadly crossfire between every power-hungry crook in Boston.

The 384-page novel has been published by Midnight Ink.


Doubt by C.E. Tobisman

Doubt is appellate attorney C.E. Tobisman's first novel in her new series featuring Caroline Auden.

Blurb

Meet Caroline Auden. The closer she gets to justice, the further she gets from the law.

When Caroline Auden lands a job at a top Los Angeles law firm, she’s excited for the challenge—and grateful for the chance to put her dark past as a computer hacker behind her. Right away, her new boss asks her to find out whether a popular GMO causes healthy people to fall ill. Caroline is only supposed to dig in the trenches and report up the ladder, but her tech background and intuition take her further than planned. When she suspects a link between the death of a prominent scientist and the shadowy biotech giant, she cries foul and soon finds herself in the crosshairs. The clock is ticking and thousands of lives are on the line…including her own.


Now this rookie lawyer with a troubled past and a penchant for hacking must prove a billion-dollar company is responsible for thousands of deaths…before they come after her.

The 348-page novel is published by Thomas & Mercer (August 1, 2016) and sold by Amazon Digital Services.



Charcoal Joe by Walter Mosley

Charcoal Joe is New York-based author Walter Mosley's fourteenth novel in his Easy Rawlins series. His novel Devil in the Blue Dress was made into a film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and Don Cheadle.

Blurb

Life for Easy Rawlins is surprisingly...easy. He's living off the proceeds of his last case, trying to keep out of trouble. Of course it's not going to last.

Because Easy's old friend Mouse knocks on his door. Mouse is one of the deadliest men in America. And Mouse wants a small favour. He wants Easy to help a man he says is wrongly imprisoned, a friend of Charcoal Joe.


Charcoal Joe is a mythical figure in the LA underworld—he pulls all the strings but keeps out of sight. Reluctantly, Easy agrees—he owes Mouse his life. But this is no small favour. It's going to be Easy's deadliest investigation yet. It's going to take him from the beaches of Malibu to the shadiest stretches of Sunset in a frenetic adventure through a wild and unrepentant city.

The 320-page novel is published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson and sold by Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.



Note: I have sourced the images of the authors and covers from the websites of the authors and publishers, in some cases via Google Images.

20 comments:

  1. I'm delighted to see that you're well enough to be blogging again, Prashant. And the books you've profiled here look terrific. I'm especially eyeing the Mosley and the Ware. I hope you'll enjoy them, and I'll be keen to know what you think.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Margot. I still haven't got into the thick of it. I do want to review books and interview writers more often than I do now.

      Delete
  2. Haven't read any of these but a couple look pretty darn good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Charles, I'm curious about these titles too. There is so much new fiction out there.

      Delete
  3. I'll definitely be reading the Ruth Ware, as I enjoyed In A Dark Dark Wood. The first one looked pretty good too! And I'm very sorry to hear you've been unwell. Glad to hear you're better now!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Linda, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I am fine now. Thanks also for recommending Ruth Ware's IN A DARK, DARK WOOD. I am intrigued by THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 too.

      Delete
  4. I've only heard of the Mosley book from this bunch. Nice feature, Prashant - hopefully to be repeated, not that I need more book hints!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Col. I don't know when I am going to read all these novels. I have previously read about Walter Mosley but never read any of his books.

      Delete
  5. I like the sound of the Cabin 10, it sounds just the kind of book I like. I'm off to look it up...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Moira, I came across so many interesting new books on Twitter I had a difficult time selecting them for this occasional feature.

      Delete
  6. Mosley! That will be my must read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, David. I think I'd like the Easy Rawlins and Charcoal Joe kind of crime fiction. I haven't read any reviews but I suspect they are gritty and fast-paced.

      Delete
  7. I am so far behind on Mosley! All the others also look interesting. Thanks for this, Prashant.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome, Jerry. I had plenty to choose from. I'd like to read Mosley's work someday.

      Delete
  8. It will take me a while to catch up with the Mosley series, but I am definitely interested in his new book. The Woman in Cabin 10 does sound good, but also sounds like the twists and turns may be too spine-tingling for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tracy, it will take me a while to "catch up" with all these wonderful writers and their books. I read the blurbs of quite a few novels before narrowing it down to these six.

      Delete
  9. Clever idea, Prashant. I've not read any of these books, but I've seen a couple of them advertised. The Woman in Cabin Ten popped up on Amazon the other day when I bought Megan Abbott's latest novel, You Will Know Me (a fine read, btw). I definitely want to read Walter Moseley's latest. Thanks for highlighting these. Glad you're on the mend.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Mathew. I'm fine now and back at work. Actually, I borrowed the idea from some blog friends including Col at his review-intensive Criminal Library. I plan to start reading Megan Abbott's novels soon. I have read some very good reviews of "You Will Know Me."

      Delete
    2. I'm sure you will love You Will Know Me, Prashant.

      Delete
    3. Thank you, Mathew. I look forward to it.

      Delete